Have An Ice Day

Florida usually gets its two weeks of winter in January, and even then, we’re talking highs in the 50s and maybe dipping below freezing for an hour or two at night, but not by much.  This year, the weather is really going for the gusto.  We haven’t been above 50 for about a week now, and the weather add-on in my Firefox browser says “Wintry Precipitation,” which sounds like “We don’t really want to say sleet and snow, but yeah, sleet and snow.”

When I was a kid back in the 1970s, we had one night where a frozen watery substance fell from the sky.  They called it snow, but it looked more like someone was slinging a lemon Slurpee off the roof.  And we sure as hell weren’t building any snowmen with it.  It’ll probably be the same tonight, maybe come actual flakes, but it’ll be water by the time it reaches the ground.

I’ve never experienced real snow.  And I’m not sure I want to.  Yeah, it looks pretty, especially when viewed from a warm house on a TV screen.  But from my experiences at the Ice exhibit, I’d probably be miserable being out in it.  I’d just sit inside and look at it.  And wonder if it’s spring yet.

But it did feel a lot more Christmas-y with the cooler weather we had around the holiday, I’ll give it that.  Just keep the wintry precipitation away.

One Response to Have An Ice Day

  1. Jen says:

    I didnt know what a "blizzard" or "freezing rain" was until I moved to NYC. Yall are lucky – you HAVE CARS AND DONT HAVE TO WALK AROUND IN IT. Its not fun, but the change of seasons is a wonderful thing, and another reason I like living here.

Leave a Reply

