Odds and Ends

I haven’t really done a lot of flying.  I’ve always been a road trip kind of guy myself.  Not that I’m afraid of flying, although, as far as I recall, no one has ever died by crashing from 10,000 feet in a car.  So not afraid, but definitely cautious.

But now I’m hopping on a plane tomorrow to head to DC for a wedding.  I’m sure once I’m strapped in and unable to leave, I’ll be just fine, and good god did I really just type “strapped in and unable to leave”?  Yeah, that’s gonna help.

OK, seriously, I’m not that worried about it.  Logically, the sheer number of flights that safely occur every day should give me no reason to be.  Hell, there are more safeguards in place for air travel than there are for car travel, and I think nothing of jumping in my car every day.  In fact, the chances of being in a plane crash are 1 in 11 million, while the chances of being in a car crash are 1 in … what?  5000?!?  Oh you’ve got to be kidding me.  So I’m gonna die on the way to the airport.  That’s just great.  And look, it’s a 1 in 2,232 chance I slip in the shower.  That’s it, I’m just staying in bed.

Oh.  1 in 6,651 chance of dying in bed.

Bastards.

One Response to Odds and Ends

  1. Anonymous says:

    What happens if the Jet Engine was manufactured by Toyota? Does that increase your anxiety?

Leave a Reply

