NaNoWriMo: Prologue

So every November a bunch of maniacs decides they’re going to write 50,000 words before the end of the month.  Well, not 50,000 random words or emails or message board posts, which I could probably pull off in a week, but a 50,000-word novel (or at least 50,000 words of continuous narrative).

And once again I’m going to be one of those maniacs. And maybe even finish.

I’ve tried twice before, without even coming close.  I don’t even have any remnants of the first attempt, other than the shame of the ineptitude of it.  The second time I got to around 9,000 words before stalling and using the “Oh, it’s the holidays, it’s too crazy” excuse.  I still have that scrap around somewhere, and may even get back to it some day.

But this year I’m going to dive in once more.  I don’t have a solid idea as to what I’m going to do; there’s a couple of long-held ideas I could go for, or I may just stare at a blank Word document until something pops into my head and run with whatever emerges.

And maybe, by making this public announcement that can be thrown back in my face around Thanksgiving if I’m sitting at 3,000 words twiddling my thumbs, I’ll have a nagging reminder to get this done and not throw in the towel.  So if you’re reading this, bug me.  Annoy me.  Keep pecking at me about how many words I’m at, about whether I wrote today or not.  If nothing else, it’ll give you a fun outlet for any repressed animosity you may have, towards me or anything else.

One Response to NaNoWriMo: Prologue

Leave a Reply

