Do They Know It’s Christmas? — Post-Mortem

So was there any doubt the top two was going to come down to Gremlins and Die Hard?  Honestly, it might have been better to have just named them right off the bat and let two other films onto the list, since both are such obvious choices.  But dammit, they’re great choices, and it’s my list, so they’re on it.

One film that very nearly made it was the Coen Brothers’ The Hudsucker Proxy, but besides having it’s climax take place on New Year’s Eve, it’s been so long since I’ve seen the film I didn’t feel confident I could write anything reasonably coherent about it.  And my memory is that it’s a film that deserves better than that.  It’s a great homage to the screwball comedies of the 30s and 40s, and something I should probably try to revisit soon.

I’ve had some people ask me where Batman Returns was.  Well, me and Tim Burton’s Batman films, we’re not exactly on speaking terms.  Yeah, they look great, but they turn Batman into a supporting character in his own movies, and I just find the stories really lacking.  In fact, there’s yet to be a live-action Batman film that I’ve been able to get behind fully; The Dark Knight probably came closest, but for my money, Paul Dini’s cartoons have done the best job in portraying the character.

Anyway, it was a fun series to put together, and I’ve had some nice comments on it, so at least a few of you enjoyed it.  Glad I was able to add my own small contribution to this year’s Christmas cheer.

Now to get to work on that list of Arbor Day movies that aren’t really about Arbor Day.

Leave a Reply

